Licensed Professional Engineer in Illinois

Honors and Awards

Inducted into
Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society (1990)
Pi Mu Epsilon National Mathematics Honor Society (1990)
Golden Key International Honor Society (1992)
Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society (1992)
Eta Kappa Nu National Electrical and Computer Engineering Honor Society (1992)
The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi (1992)
Scholarships / Fellowships
Association of Energy Engineers Foundation Scholarship (1990)
Jesse W. and Leona Probst Scholarship, University of Toledo (1991)
Norma Richards Scholarship, Electrical Engineering Department, University of Toledo (1991, 1992)
Walter P. Murphy Fellowship, Northwestern University (1993)
Motorola Bravo Award (2006)
Motorola Career Achievement Award (2007)
Motorola Applied Research Center Golden Gate Award (2009)
Motorola Invention Award (2010)
Motorola Distinguished Innovator Award (2012)
Intelligent Systems Research and Development Support (ISRDS) Certificate of Achievement (2018)
NASA Group Achievement Award (2021)
KBR Service Award (2022)


Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (Senior Member)
Robotics and Automation Society
Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society
Aerospace and Electronics Systems Society
National Society of Professional Engineers
Illinois Society of Professional Engineers
Planetary Society
Committee for Skeptical Inquiry (Associate Member)


Advised a team of students in an undergraduate robotics design competition (1997)
Invited to give an NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates talk at DePauw University (2000)
Reviewed new Computer Engineering and Communication, Controls, and Electronics depth exam for the NCEES in a P.E. Exam Development Workshop. Evaluated questions for technical consistency, accuracy, relevance, and difficulty. (2001)
Proctored and graded Illinois Mathcounts competitions (2003 - 2005)
Reviewer for
IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Part A: Systems and Humans
IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering
IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation
Motorola Applied Research Center Patent Committee
Doctoral Committee
Francesca Schuler, University of Illinois at Chicago (current)